Gimme, Gimme, Symphonies…

I owe a lot to one of my rather eccentric high school classmates for exposing me to house music, even though he may not know it. I’ll save the reason why I love house music for another post, but I do want to talk a little about how my interest in the genre has grown. What has been great about going to school on the east coast is that people have such a wide variety of music tastes, and I can finally take in all of that and more. There have been so many people on campus that broadened my tastes and opened my eyes to the world of house. I went to my first DJ set last month (Mr. Oizo and Chromeo in NYC) with some friends and it was one of the best experiences ever. I’ve discovered some amazing blogs which I now check on a daily basis. Even my overpriced tuition is at least going to a speedy internet service (most of the time) that allows me to grab the newest releases.

I created this blog to have a place to direct people anytime someone asks me, “What’s a good song you heard recently?” More importantly, I want people who read this blog to get as excited as me about music. Also, it will be a chance for me to have some introspection on what music means to me in my life. This blog will feature mostly house, sprinkled with musings on life, and the occasional surprise.

Without further ado:

To start my first post, I’d like to share a song that exemplifies the type of music that I’ve been getting into the past couple of years. In the link below, we have one of my favorite electro house duos Dada Life remixing Dan Black’s original indie track Symphonies that was edited to be a collaboration with mainstream rapper Kid Cudi. Quite a mouthful to say. It’s an interesting mashup of genres that rivals the catchiness of the original song.

Dan Black ft. Kid Cudi – Symphonies (Dada Life Remix)

Dan Black – Symphonies (Original)

Definitely worth putting on repeat!

~ by Dr. Zippy on March 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
