NALOPKT #1

I don’t want to get into why I named this post as is right now but I borrowed the idea from a music blog that I visit regularly. As often as possible, I’ll try to post a couple of the songs that I’ve been playing extensively. They’ll more often than not be electro/house and a mix of the old and new. My goal is for people to be exposed to new music that will get them dancing and strays from the standard mainstream junk I hear at parties all the time. With the success of Swedish House Mafia’s One and Yolanda Be Cool and DCUP’s We No Speak Americano last year, I hope that we’ll see more house music played on the radio and in clubs in the US.

Wolfgang Gartner – Space Junk

One of the hottest songs I’ve heard in a while and the first that I’ve really liked by Wolfgang Gartner. This track has been featured in a lot of mixes recently and I actually first heard it on Dada Life’s February mix which you can find here. The synth lead fits perfectly.

Kid Cudi – Pursuit of Happiness (Steve Aoki Remix)

This one is a little older but still great. I’m not actually a big fan of Steve Aoki but I liked the original version of the song and this remix pounds in your head. Steve Aoki is actually performing at the Roseland Ballroom with Dada Life on April 9th in New York, so I’m hoping to attend if things work out.

Afrojack ft. Eva Simons – Take Over Control (Ian Carey Remix)

First song I heard by Afrojack. I had no idea how ridiculously hot he’s been this past year but his name shows up anywhere you look. His song’s have a characteristic Dutch house sound with high leads, but this Ian Carey remix changes up the chorus to have a more standard synth sound. PS, if you watch the music video for the original mix, Eva Simons looks like Rihanna.

Wynter Gordon – Dirty Talk (Laidback Luke Remix)

Oh man. Speaking of Dutch house, this is the guy that first got me introduced me to the sound. The bass drop is ridiculous. Laidback Luke is the number one DJ I want to see live currently, because if you watch videos of him, he brings an energy to the party that clearly shows while he’s mixing.

Chromeo – Hot Mess (Duck Sauce Remix)

Dave 1 of Chromeo dropped this track (by far one of the most memorable) in his set at Webster Hall in NYC. Here we have Elly Jackson of La Roux’s voice throughout the track which fits the song perfectly. Duck Sauce puts their signature touch to song to make it catchy as hell. The bass isn’t heavy compared other songs but still pounds in a live set. Interesting fact, A-Trak, renowned DJ and one half of Duck Sauce, is the younger brother of Dave 1.

Bonus: Stromae – Alors on Danse

I put this bonus track in because it captures the feeling of last summer for me. I lived in a shitty apartment with three other guys but had the best time ever, despite one of the guys being a complete douchebag towards the rest of us and me in particular. If there was ever a coming of age time for me, that was it, living away from my parents for the first time. The translation of the title means “So Let’s Dance” in French, which sums up my attitude towards life at that time perfectly. No worries about grades, jobs, or other petty things. I decided to name my blog after this track because sometimes I want to say fuck it to everything and enjoy life.

~ by Dr. Zippy on March 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
